Creation Justice 

Movement Café

Introducing the UM Creation Justice Movement

Through the Movement Café, the United Methodist Creation Justice Movement now has an informal, virtual space to facilitate connection and conversation about creation care and justice issues. The once-a-month Wednesday meetings are an opportunity to listen, learn, and share joys, successes, questions, concerns, and possibilities. Each third Wednesday (10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ET), and occasional evenings, the Café will feature a topic and/or a speaker and generate hope for our good earth.

Everyone is welcome—from local churches, districts, jurisdictions, green teams, agency teams. Everyone. By connecting, we become stronger! That’s what the Café can do. This webpage will provide updates on speakers, topics, and recordings.

Upcoming and Past Cafés

April 2024 Movement Café

April Movement Café: General ConferenceApril 17th 2024 10am PT / 11am MT / 12pm CT / 1pm ETSponsored by the United Methodist Creation Justice Movement, the informal, virtual space of the Café facilitates conversation, connection, and community focused on creation care...

read more

BONUS April Café: MFSA and UMCJM at General Conference

BONUS Movement CaféApril 4th 2024 1pm PT / 2pm MT / 3pm CT / 4pm ETSponsored by the United Methodist Creation Justice Movement, the informal, virtual space of the Café facilitates conversation, connection, and community focused on creation care and justice...

read more

Meet the Movement Café Team

Rev. Richenda Fairhurst

has served UMC churches in Oregon and Washington state. She chairs the Creation Justice Committee for Ecumenical Ministries of Oregon, and Oregon Interfaith Power and Light, and cofounded the nonprofit Circle Faith Future.

Cathy Velasquez Eberhart

is a commissioned UM EarthKeeper and has worked in communities of faith addressing creation justice and climate change in different roles, including previously on the board of Minnesota Interfaith Power and Light. Cathy helps convenes the grassroots effort that is the United Methodist Creation Justice Movement.

Dawn Lewis

splits her time between the southwest and the southeastern U.S. A longtime United Methodist with a passion for creation, she has experience in small groups and with organizations that seek good in the world and lends her expertise to the effort.